PDA

View Full Version : Account Intrusion Attempts



Steve K
07-10-2008, 06:16 PM
Many users may have gotten some the following email from the forums:


Dear xyz,

Someone has tried to log into your account on RCPro Community with an incorrect password at least 5 times. This person has been prevented from attempting to login to your account for the next 15 minutes.

The person trying to log into your account had the following IP address: 58.65.232.113

All the best,
RCPro Community

The IP address, 58.65.232.113, has been blocked from the server and the forums. Be aware that no information was compromised and your accounts are safe.

From an article found after a quick Google:


The IP address of the exploit site is assigned to a server in Australia that is part of the "myrdns.com" domain, which, in turn, is registered to a Hong Kong Internet service provider called HostFresh Internet. Both HostFresh and myrdns.com have been linked to RBN activities, including the long-running IFrame Cash scheme, in which RBN pays Web site owners a commission for injecting IFrame exploits on other sites.

The Russian Business Network (commonly abbreviated as RBN) is a multi-faceted cybercrime organization, specializing in and in some cases monopolizing personal identity theft for resale. The RBN, which is notorious for its hosting of illegal and dubious businesses, originated as an Internet Service Provider for child pornography, phishing, spam, and malware distribution physically based in St. Petersburg Russia. More recently it has developed partner and affiliate marketing techniques in many countries to provide a method for organized crime to target victims internationally.(Taken from Wikipedia.org)

As I mentioned before, your accounts are safe and no information was compromised, however if you notice anything out of the ordinary originating from this site or the forums, please let us know!

We request:
1) A full screenshot, including the URL that you found this at.
2) As much information as possible as to what you were doing, if if could have come from another site, whatever.

Thanks,
The RCPro Team